Any Aikido in MMA?

Just like Karate was bullshit before Machida, when God decreed that it works.
Right,but you cant use that example to assume every martial art not being used in MMA is applicable to MMA

There are some interesting techniques in Aikido, specially a few good wrist locks. They can be used in self defense against untrained opponents. When I was 14 or 15 I trained Aikido for a little while and I managed to use a few wrist locks successfully against other kids.
The problem is, as you pointed, the overly cooperative training. There is no real resistance and every grip move your opponent does is made to purposely set up the locks you are going to use.
When I started training bjj, there was an Aikido class right before ours. One of their black belts started to train with us around the time I got my blue belt. It was pretty easy to submit him. I remember once as we started to roll he used an interesting move and was able to get a good position, but other than that it didn't help him much.

I mostly agree with this, but I did have an interesting experience against an aikido blackbelt in Hawaii. Several of us were training at the Kebo Academy for the upcoming sport jujitsu tournament (kind of like amateur mma mid 90s) and I sparred with this guy. I beat the guy, but felt oddly threatened by his odd movements the whole time. The guy who sparred him after me had a bad time. New guy threw a front kick and Mr. Aikido scooped it mid flight and threw him onto his head nearly knocking him out. After a brief recovery period they went at it again and Mr. Aikido kicked out one of his legs while wrenching his head forward and effectively DDT'd the guy - out cold. It was the first and last time I saw aikido used effectively in the 20ish years I was involved with martial arts.

HvW6ua.gif

Front-Kick-KO.gif

All taught by Sensei Seagal
giphy.gif

Maybe i'm wrong but Machda seem to use it a lil bit, but maybe is more rarely seen Judo stuff than Aikido

2agw0lj.gif