Cops episode just illustrated alot of what's wrong with policing in the US

no, they are not. 1989?? you are obviously speaking out of your ass. a lot of shit changed since Rodney King's incident in the early 90s, especially police's use of force.

My dad was in LAPD from 1979-2000 and i've been a cop since 2007. He said a lot of shit he did back in those days were acceptable, but nowadays that same shit would get me prosecuted & fired

Very true. I have said much of the same things. People I have worked with have done things that would get us fired at the very least, but likely in prison. Yet, people still have some romantic opinion of policing “back in the day.” And the reality is the neighborhood friendly policeman has changed since neighborhoods essentially have changed since the 80s- a lot.

By running for that mile is probably already considered resisting and the adrenaline in the cops is probably off the charts.

Imagine doing this for 5 years, you get ancy.

I can't decide who I hate more, asshole cops or the bigoted trash that puts these pigs on a pedestal. They are not "heroes" they are opportunistic bullies abusing their power. I won't lose a second of sleep over a dead cop. You reap what you sow.

Lol. Wow.

America has a lot of shitty, shitty people. The more shitty people you have, the more shitty cops you're likely to have - both because they're drawn from the general population and because they regularly have to deal with the shittiest constituents of shitty populations.

Going into conniptions over asshole cops is not going to fix anything.
Want to fix your cop problem? It's the same as pretty much anything else: fix your people problem.

Not saying all Americans are shitty, just lots of them.